Finally, Some Good News For The Caribbean Islands

After being hit by a handful of major hurricanes over the past two years, the islands of the Caribbean Sea are finally getting a bit of good news… The deadline to require American citizens to use passports for travel to the Bahamas, Bermuda and all other countries has been formally extended to December 31, 2006.

Countries that have the most cruise visitors lobbied the State Department to postpone a previous deadline of December 31, 2005, since many passengers have used picture IDs such as driver’s licenses and birth certificates rather than passports.

Note that passports are already required for the following countries:
• Barbados
• Guadeloupe
• Guyana
• Haiti
• Martinique
• St. Barts
• St. Eustatius
• Suriname
• Trinidad and Tobago.

For more info, visit or call the National Passport Information Center at 877.487.2778.

Leave a Reply